Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Curriculum

From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.Parents’ Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

In Reception we follow The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  There are seven areas of learning that shape the EYFS Curriculum. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive Art and Design

All of these areas are equally important and inter-connecting.

Here at Chilwell Croft, each area of development is implemented through well planned, meaningful play, consisting of adult-led and child-led activities.

Play is essential in supporting children’s development, building their confidence as they explore and solve problems. Providing well-planned experiences that are based on children’s play, both indoors and outdoors, is essential in helping children to learn with enjoyment and enthusiasm.

Observing children during both adult and child-led activities helps us to develop an understanding of each child’s achievement, their interests and their learning styles, enabling us to plan future experiences.

It is important to remember that every child is unique and will develop and learn in different ways and different rates.

 ‘Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.’ Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

2022 Information for Parents Reception Baseline Assesment


Click HERE or above to Play Video